Skip to main content


Tennessee recognizes specific disability categories  for the identification of students with disabilities.  A student may become eligible for special education services if  an evaluation determines the student meets the criteria for one or more of these disabilities:

Autism -Intellectually Gifted
Blind -Language Impairments
Deaf-Blindness -Multiple Disabilities

Deafness -Orthopedic Impairments
Developmental Delay -Other-Health Impairments
Emotional Disturbance -Speech Impairments
Functional Delay -Traumatic Brain Injury
Hearing Impairments -Visual Impairments
Intellectual Disability -Specific Learning Disability

Specific definitions and evaluation procedures can be found in the 
Tennessee Special Education Framework.